Christmas Snaps

Standard

Christmas Pretties

 

Well Christmas has come and gone again, leaving scraps of wrapping paper, metal twisty ties, and cookie crumbs everywhere. Rather than write a post, I’m just going to dump a whole heap of photos..

 

Oof in the ball-pit he got for his birthday

 

The kitchen during my 4-day baking blitz

Once again, I went mental with the christmas cookies, and left it all up to the last minute.

Christmassy 'Whatever Floats Your Boat' Brownies, with Cherries floating this articular boat

I also made Chocolate Brownies and handed them out with the cookies. I thought the decorations were a cute, random, last minute idea.

Dipping fresh cherries in milk chocolate... yummmmm

I made some Chocolate dipped cherries to decorate the Black Forest Trifle I was making.

 

Making Gingerbread Men

 

 

 

The Kitchen after baking about a billion different things

I think I did about 40 loads of dishes during the baking blitz.

The Gingerbread dough resting in the fridge overnight, it was too sticky to use straight away

 

Cutting out dozens of little men made of ginger

 

White Chocolate & Macadamia Shortbread Trees, dipped in more White Chocolate and decorated with cachous

 

K's X-Mas present from Jo

My friend Jo popped up for a visit on Christmas Eve.

I almost told her not to because I had so much to do, but then decided her daughter could help me decorate the baked goods.

The finished cookie jar gifts

Jo decorated the jars for me while I made dinner – Vege Sausages, Potato Bake, Peas and Corn, with lots of butter, salt, pepper, and bbq sauce!

 

The white-milk choc marble tart I made for Christmas Eve dessert

Since I actually had some ingredients left over, Tyrin (Jo’s daughter) helped me make this tart for dessert.

 

I don't know what I would have done without Jo!

Jo wrapped all my presents for me while I wigged out in the kitchen, trying to finish all my baking, cooking dinner, dessert, feeding the kids, bathing them, putting them to bed and cleaning the house. Without her help I probably would have still been up at 3am trying to wrap presents.

 

Finally, everything finished, and it's only 1am!!

Finally, the moment I had been waiting for…

 

The boys waking up to their stockings

 

M teaching K to drive

 

A small portion of the loot

After we finished opening presents, I had intended to make pancakes for the boys for breakfast, but (wouldn’t you know it), my stove top blew up or shorted or something… I had just finished making the batter, too! I tried ‘bush mechanic’ some pancakes by using the electric wok, but it sooooo did not work out. It was a good thing that Jo had given K a banana for his gift, because he ended up having that for breakfast, while M had cookies!

Dhara

By the time we got to Ferny, the pizza production was well underway, the house was covered in rubbish, and everyone was in a good mood.

 

Waiting for yummy pizza

 

Paul the Pizza Man (close relly of Con the Fruiterer)

Paul cooked some fabulous pizza’s, with lovely, fluffy bases. Special shout out to Mark for rolling the bases out using a jar of Capers, since no-one seemed to realise that the rolling pin was missing, until the critical moment.

P & Boy

P just made good friends with the silver chicken.

And to finish it all off, Black Forest Trifle for dessert..

 

I was a little nervous about making the trifle, since I have never made black forest trifle, and I was not really following a recipe, but made it up. It turned out really nicely though, and made a huge bowl. We finished off on Boxing Day. And don’t worry, recipes will come, I promise!

 

So how was your Christmas? What did you eat?

 

 

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

