Birthdays, Beaches and B*tches

Standard

Last week marked the celebration of Octoberfest in my family. For some silly reason, everyone got randy in the same week or so of February, and therefore one week in October is chock a block with birthdays. 2 of my older sisters start it off, on the 22nd and 23rd. My nephew is on the 24th. Another sister has a fake birthday on the 25th (scorpio wannabe much?). My Gramma is the 27th, and I’m the 28th. There are more birthdays – cousins, etc, but thats just the immediate fams. So we do Octoberfest and hit them all at once. One stone. Of course, since we are scattered globally, its not easy to do. Sad face.

For my birthday I had lunch with friends, then went to the local pub for a few drinks. My first proper night out! It turned into madness and left a really sour taste, but thats another story. The next day, a good friend of mine, Jo, came to visit me for only the second time in 2 years. It was only for about 2 hours, but totally awesome. Then, the next day she called and said she was going to the beach, and did I want to come? Yes! I even managed to talk her into going to Currumbin Beach. After the beach, we came back to my place with her daughter, brother, and bro’s friend to chill for a few hours before they left.

The next day (monday) was Halloween, and my friend Jade came over with her 2 year old son Tayne, and we took the boys trick-or-treating in the complex where I live. It was so cute, Tayne was dressed up as batman, and was totally uninterested in the whole event until he realised people were giving him candy. Then he was waaayyyyy into it! M was dressed as Dracula, and I put K in a little Superman suit. The boys scored, I was surprised at how much candy they got, considering Australia technically does not celebrate Halloween. There were heaps of other kids out doing it too.

Tuesday (yesterday), a friend of mine from my old old work, came down from Brisbane to stay the night with her boyfriend Clint. I am directly responsible for them being together, and they are such a cute couple. Think hipster, hippy, scientist, biochemical engineering, rock-climbing doofers. Thats Tara and Clint. Tara made a spinach and fetta lasagna and carrot cake, and brought it down with her for dinner. I  put on salad and fresh crusty bread, which we dipped in oil and vinegar. Our other friend from ye olde work, Nat, came with her husband and son, with garlic bread, guacamole, and cornchips. Not ‘The Best Guacamole’, but still okish… I’m a little spoiled now, I guess. We sat around on anything that was the right height, eating with whatever utensils we could find, drinking wine out of plastic cups, and laughed til our cheeks hurt. We laughed so loud that my drunken neighbour walked in my side gate, OPENED MY SIDE DOOR, and tried to join us. I was shocked, my friends thought I knew him, and it was a little confusing and scary until the guys almost forcibly got rid of him. Freaky. I think that since it was Melbourne Cup, he was getting on it all day, then probably came home and heard us laughing so loud and hard that he thought there was a party or something. Anyway.

After Nat and her family left, and I got the kids off to bed, Tara Clint and I sat up and chatted for a few more hours then hit the sack. This morning dawned so bright and warm that once I got M off to school, I convinced them to forget about driving home to study for exams, and come to the creek with K and I. It was so beautiful; not too windy, high tide, water was the perfect temp, and crystal clear. We splashed about for about 2 hours, then stopped to get some chips and head home.

After we polished them off, the crazy kooky scientists packed up and headed back to the big smoke, and I trundled off to get M  from school.

 

The most social I have been in months, maybe even years! All packed into 1 week. I had such a good time. I have some really, really awesome friends. I have some shitty ones too, but some make me smile so hard my skull falls out.

 

Photo’s to come 🙂

 

Oh! Here is a present from Tara and Clint. It’s great.

 

ok so I don’t know if that video will work, I don’t think it’s showing up, in which case go to http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dIYvD9DI1ZA bloody stupid kiwi stuff.

5 responses »

  1. Oh! it sounds like you had a wonderful time! You should do it more often. Get Jo to stop in after work and such. I’m glad the week ended positively. Good for you!

  2. Oh, and checked out your video… you must have been really drunk if they stopped you from driving home…cus you were already home…. stuuuuuuuuuuuuupid..

Leave a Reply

