Wiggy’s Bday, Beachin It, & I Eat Too Many Cupcakes

Standard

Now that the weather is warming right up, I have been trying to get the boys out to the creek or beach as much as possible. Unfortunately it has also been windy, which kind of ruins the perfect beach weather. Sad Face.

Sunday was a little pre-birthday bbirthday celebration for Wiggy. The little rascal is now 2, and my sisters family, myself, and the boys gathered at Kingscliff Creek for a picnic lunch and birthday cake. The day was nice and sunny, and while we were waiting to leave the house, I quickly made some (more) brownies for M’s school snacks. OK I lie they’re mostly for me but whatevs.

Kingi Creek was nowhere near as packed as Currumbin Creek gets on the weekend, and now I know why – it was so gross! Everyone in Kingscliff must head up to Currumbin now. Admittedly, it was low tide. But the beautiful old Kingi Creek is no longer there. The sand is sludgy and muddy, there are hardly any sandy beachy bits left, and what is there is not white sand, but is dark with blackish streaks. The last few years, the creek and beachfront have copped a bit of a battering. So much sand and dunes have washed away that even the road in one of the carparks has collapsed and is now cordoned off. The caravan park is being held up by scaffolding, the coastguard tower that used to stick out on the bar is almost an island, and the surf club is in danger of washing away. But in any case, it was interesting to see how it looks now.

We had a little trouble trying to find a good spot to set up camp, but eventually we did, and it was nice and private until some random lady’s WET DOG rocked up and shook itself all over us, the food, cake, drinks, and our various gear.

Wiggy had fun in the water though, as did M and K. I plonked K in the shallows and let him splash away, while M floated about on his bodyboard.

After we snacked out, had a slice of birthday cake, and watched him open some presents, the tide started coming in quite fast, so we decided to move camp up the bank to a picnic table that was nearby. From there, C and I looked after the 2 littlies while M went fishing with Wiggy’s dad and friend. M caught a fish, which was quite funny. Even though he doesn’t mind fishing, he is not especially interested in it, yet always manages to catch something.

C and I decided to build a farmyard for the animals that Wiggy got for a gift, while K crawled around exploring, and Wiggy fluttered in between the fishing and the serious business farm building.

All in all it was a nice afternoon, and a nice way to help celebrate Wiggy’s birthday.

 

 

Today was another warm day, and after spending the day cleaning, feeding, changing and rocking the little heffalump, I was ready to spend an hour at the creek after picking up M from school. I got to his school early, as his class was doing a presentation at the assembly. M had been going on about it for ages, and like the slack person that I am, I actually forgot about it, and was looking at the normally half full carpark that was full, wondering what was going on, until I realised it was probably full of all the other parents watching their kids performing. Luckily the performance had only just started, and I got some pics of M. He had a main speaking part and played his role very well.

After we left the school we headed straight to the creek but unfortunately the wind was much much stronger down there, and even though we splashed about a bit, it really was not a nice place to sit and pass the time. We watched some guys kite surfing for a while. We headed home after about 45 mins.

After we got home I whipped up (another) batch of cupcakes. I have run out of vanilla, so I used rosewater and holy cow they are good and maybe a little too good cos I have eaten 2 of them already and feel a little sick. I think I need to start posting diet recipes or something… or something… haha.

 

EDIT: Does anyone else notice how eerily similar this post is to Renovales? Mine went up first, you know!!! *coughcoughCOPYCATcoughcough*

Leave a Reply

