Brooownies, Talkin Bout Some Broooowniiiiiessss

Standard

Today I made ‘Whatever Floats Ya Boat Brownies’. So yummy! I am having to continually talk myself out of finishing the rest of the batch right now, reminding myself that it is heading into summer and I would like to try lose some of my spare tyre. Of course, I should probably just stop baking things like brownies and honeycomb (which I made yesterday) if I am really serious about this, but I thought it would be a nice treat for M to take to school in his lunchbox. And since when did logic ever count for much?

Before they were even cooked, I tasted a bit of the batter. Big Mistake! I was very close to blowing off baking them, and eating the friggin batter as is! And once they were cooked, phwoar!!

Warning: If you decide to bake these, make sure you have plenty of milk handy to wash it down with.

 

 

Whatever Floats Ya Boat Brownies

1/2 cup butter, melted

1/2 cup unsweetened cocoa

1 cup sugar

2 eggs

2 tsp vanilla

1/2 cup flour

1/4 tsp salt

1-2 cups ‘Whatever Floats Your Boat’!

 

Preheat oven to 180 c, and grease or line a slice pan.

Combine butter and cocoa together and stir until cocoa is dissolved.

Add sugar and mix well.

Add eggs one at a time and stir well until combined.

Stir in vanilla, flour and salt, stir until you don’t see any flour but don’t over mix.

Fold in ‘Whatever Floats Your Boat’, eg mashmallows, chopped nuts, choc-chips, cherries, lollies, whatever!

Spread in pan and bake for approx 25 minutes.

Cool completely before cutting into squares.

 

 

Do not overbake or they will come out dry. I baked mine for 25 mins and pulled them out and let them cool while I cruised around doing laundry and feeding K his lunch. When I tasted one over an hour later, I wished I had let them cook for 3-4 minutes more. So adjust the time and temp according to your oven if you know it well enough.

I used 10 hazelnuts that I picked out of my trail mix and chopped up, and about 1/3 cup of choc chips that I found lurking in the back of the pantry. Seriously, they must have been about 2 years old!

 

 

 

 

Which one looks better, with flash or without?

Oh and FYI, while I was typing this I broke down and ate another one. And if anyone out there watches Rush, OMG!!! I was totally crying, I can’t believe that just happened!!

Leave a Reply

