What came first? The Not Chicken or the Egg replacer?

Standard

Tonight my Mother, K, M, and I went out to dinner (my shout) to a little hole-in-the-wall place in Broadbeach. It’s a place that I always noticed as I was driving past yet had never been to, until finally last year when I was about 6 months pregnant I went with C. The restaurant is called Tian Ran, and is the only Vegan restaurant on the Gold Coast. Last time I went I had the spicy eggplant with brown rice, C had the wonton noodle soup. I remember wishing that I had what he had.

 So I decided to take my Mother out to dinner, thinking she might enjoy it. We had 2 mixed entree’s to share between us, M had the kids meal of ‘nuggets’ and chips, Mother had the ‘seafood’ hot pot, I had the wonton noodle soup, and we had a plate of nasi goreng to share. It turned out to be far too much, we could have done without the hotpot, as we hardly touched it. The fake meat stuff is so not my deal, and I tried to delicately steer Mother away from it, but she went ahead and ordered it.

Anyway, the meal was not bad, but it certainly was not as good as I remembered it. Maybe because the last time I was pregnant, so things tasted better? Last time I also did not have an obnoxious 7-nearly-8 year old and an extremely classless and childish Mother dining with me. But ya get that.

After we got home and the kids went to bed, she decided she had a sweet craving, so I quickly threw together 2 mug cakes for us. They were good, but not as good as I have made before. I have a great recipe for chocolate mug cake, but it calls for Nutella, which I don’t have right now. One day I’ll post that up.

So. Chocolate Mug Cake.


 

Ingredients

4 tablespoons flour
4 tablespoons sugar
2 tablespoons cocoa
1 egg
3 tablespoons milk
3 tablespoons oil
3 tablespoons chocolate chips (optional)
a small splash of vanilla extract
1 large coffee mug

Method

Add dry ingredients to mug, and mix well. Add the egg and mix thoroughly.

 
Pour in the milk and oil and mix well.
Add the chocolate chips (if using) and vanilla extract, and mix again.
Put your mug in the microwave and cook for 3 minutes at 1000 watts (high).
The cake will rise over the top of the mug, but it’s all good!

Allow to cool a little, and tip out onto a plate if desired.
 
 
Keep in mind that this recipe is for 1 mug full of cakey goodness, but I actually divided it between 2 mugs. You can see from the picture that it did not completely fill the mug, but it was sufficient.
Leave a Reply

