Ch-ch-ch-ch-change (turn and face the strain)!

Standard

In keeping with the theme of the month, I have made some more changes. What do you think of the new look? It feels much lighter, more fun. I love the riot of colors. Reminds me that spring is coming.

Tonight I made a chocolate self saucing pudding. M didn’t quite gobble it down as I expected him to, but then again he didn’t finish his favourite dinner (pasta) either, said he had a tummy ache. I have never quiter found a chocolate pudding recipe that encompasses both the taste I want and the ease I need. I won’t bother making something if the ingredient list gets too long, I just don’t have the time, and usually only have basic baking ingredients in my cupboard. But this recipe was not too bad. It certainly wasn’t a rich, chocolately lava type flavour, but it was not bland either. I actually think it was probably just right. Any richer and it would have been sickening, especially if eaten with ice cream or cream.

So. My Chocolate Self Saucing Pudding.

  • Serves:6 if you wanna be generous, or you could just eat it to yourself over the course of 3 meals…
  • Degree of difficulty:Medium
  • Preparation time:10 minutes (it actually took me more like a half hour but whatever)

Ingredients

Pudding

1 cup self-raising flour
2 tablespoons baking cocoa
Half cup raw caster sugar
80g butter, melted and cooled (can do this in microwave)
half a cup milk
1 large egg, lightly beaten
50g dark chocolate, roughly chopped into small pieces (I used some dark chocolate chips I had in the cupboard; while I was at it I decided to throw in some white chocolate chips too, just for good measure. So I actually used a lot more like 100g of chocolate)

Sauce

3/4 cup raw caster sugar
2 tablespoons baking cocoa, sifted
1 & 1/4 cups boiling water

Method

Preheat oven to 180C conventional / 160C fan forced.
Grease five cup capacity overproof dish.
Sift flour, cocoa into a bowl. Stir in raw caster sugar and dark chocolate.
Whisk the melted and cooled butter, milk and egg together.
Add to flour mixture and mix until combined. Put into ovenproof dish.
For the sauce, combine the raw caster sugar and cocoa together and sift over pudding mixture.
Pour boiling water into large spoon over the pudding to avoid making indentations into the pudding mixture.
Place dish onto a baking tray and bake for approximately 50 minutes or until pudding bounces back when gently pressed in the middle with your finger.
Rest for 10 to 15 minutes and serve with whipped cream and strawberries. Or just eat it straight up.

Excuse my dodgy food styling.. or lack of.

Adapted from the original recipe, which can be found at http://www.abc.net.au/local/recipes/2010/07/30/2969131.htm

One response »

  1. The change is very you. And WHAT’S UP WITH THE CHOCOLATE PUDDING WHEN I’M NOT THERE, HUH?!? Save me some, I was thinking of coming down tomorrow maybe…

Leave a Reply

